Castella is a sweet, moist sponge cake. Based on a recipe originally introduced by Portuguese missionaries in the mid-16th century, and then developed by the people of Nagasaki, it is now a popular item.
Long serving as Japan’s sole international trading port and gateway to the West, Nagasaki is an eclectic city with an important history. This self-proclaimed “City of Peace” also attracts visitors wishing to pray for peace and learn about the horrors of the atomic bomb.
TOKYO (NARITA) TO Nagasaki
Things to Do in Nagasaki
During Japan’s long period of national seclusion (1641-1859), Dejima was the only door open to Europe and gave Nagasaki the status of Japan’s sole international trading port. Dejima played an important role in the development of culture, industry, and science in Japan by serving as a gateway to the West.
These mountains are famous for their azaleas in the spring, green colors in the summer, autumn leaves in the fall, and frosty fog in the winter. Enjoy the cable-car ride up to the top for breathtaking views.
The view of Nagasaki at night should not be missed. With Nagasaki Port at the center, mountains loom on three sides. Homes and city lights populate the slopes, their lights mingling with the twinkling stars in the sky.
Tatsunoshima Island seems to float upon the vivid blue ocean. View the uniquely eroded stacks, caves and arches, as well as “Snake Valley,” named for the narrow gorge that snakes between 50-meter cliffs. Thrill-seekers can walk along the top of the cliff. The island’s beach, with its fine white sand and calm crystal-clear waters, is the perfect place to relax.
After the atomic bombing of the city, it was said that grass and trees would not grow on this spot for 75 years. Yet Peace Park is now full of trees, flowers and works of art donated by countries all over the world in support of the city’s prayer for peace.
Hashima is also known by its nickname “Gunkanjima” (Battleship Island) due to its unique silhouette. Hashima flourished as a coal mining community starting in 1890. In 1974, when the coal mine closed, the island was completely deserted.